Why Aren’t We Meeting in Person?

We have heard from many camps leaders that the past 18 months have been the most challenging financially in their history. When CCCA hosts a national conference, we have to clear certain hurdles financially just to push the “go” button. With so many of our members struggling to catch up financially from a devastating year, we knew attendance would not support an in-person event that included costs for travel, registration and accommodations – even at a reduced rate. So, this year we have decided to hold an online experience in December. We are not attempting to create our national conference online. That is impossible to do. There is no replacement for being together. But, the CCCA team is working hard to create an experience that we trust God will use to encourage, train and inspire you. And, we look forward to being together again in 2022 at a national conference!


The ability to recover quickly from difficult situations, harmful conditions.

The state of being for Christ-followers who believe to their core that God has a plan and it is good.

Join us Dec. 1 and 2, 2021, as we celebrate our resilient community in this online experience.

We’ll celebrate the ways God has sustained us through a difficult year.

We’ll ask for His help and healing from unresolved pains and seek Him as we ask for added resilience to face the next year.

We’ll gather virtually to learn, be inspired, and network with one another. We need this time together.

Resilient 21 Marker

SCHEDULE

Wednesday, Dec. 1

8 p.m. EST | 7 p.m. CST | 6 p.m. MST | 5 p.m. PST
Kickoff General Session

9:30–10:30 p.m. EST | 8:30–9:30 p.m. CST | 7:30–8:30 p.m. MST | 6:30-7:30 p.m. PST
Exhibit ‘Rooms’ Open 


Thursday, Dec. 2

10 a.m. EST | 9 a.m. CST | 8 a.m. MST | 7 a.m. PST
General Session Meet Up

10:30 a.m. EST | 9:30 a.m. CST | 8:30 a.m. MST | 7:30 a.m. PST
Seminar 1 (7 options) 

11:30 a.m. EST | 10:30 a.m. CST | 9:30 a.m. MST | 8:30 a.m. PST
General Session

1 p.m. EST | Noon CST | 11 a.m. MST | 10 a.m. PST
Seminar 2 (6 options) 

2–3 p.m. EST | 1–2 p.m. CST | Noon–1 p.m. MST | 11 a.m.–Noon PST 
Exhibit ‘Rooms’ Open and Networking

3 p.m.  EST | 2 p.m. CST | 1 p.m. MST | Noon PST
Cohorts by Core or Roundtables with Panelists

4 p.m.  EST | 3 p.m. CST | 2 p.m. MST | 1 p.m. PST
Seminar 3 (6 options)

5 p.m. EST | 4 p.m. CST | 3 p.m. MST | 2 p.m. PST
Networking, Games, Exhibit ‘Rooms’ Open

6:30 p.m. EST | 5:30 p.m. CST | 4:30 p.m. MST | 3:30 p.m. PST
General Session

8 p.m. EST | 7 p.m. CST | 6 p.m. MST | 5 p.m. PST
Networking and Closing

*Times may vary slightly due to event preceding 

Resilient 21 Marker

GENERAL SESSION SPEAKERS

CARLOS WHITTAKER

NONA JONES

STEVE CARTER

Author, speaker, moment maker, spider killer, hope dealer

Carlos Whittaker is a People’s Choice Award winner, a former recording artist signed to a major label, a social media maven, and currently spends the majority of his time writing books and speaking around the world. He’s the author of “Moment Maker” and “Kill the Spider.” Carlos regularly teaches at churches and conferences worldwide, including Catalyst Conference, Embrace Church, FreshLife Church and more.

Innovator, author, speaker, survivor

Nona Jones is a rare combination of preacher, business executive, author and entrepreneur. In her day job, she serves as the head of North America community partnerships and global faith-based partnerships at Facebook. She is the bestselling author of two books: “Success from the Inside Out,” chronicling her unlikely story of success after a childhood filled with physical and sexual abuse, and “From Social Media to Social Ministry,” the globally acclaimed guide to digital discipleship for churches.

Pastor, author, speaker and podcast host

Steve Carter is the former teaching pastor of Willow Creek Community Church in Chicago. He hosts the Craft and Character podcast, and his desire is to bring Jesus into every conversation and space he occupies. Steve also co-hosts The Home Team podcast with ESPN sports anchor Sam Acho and NFL player Trey Burton, unpacking the intersections of faith, culture, sports and family. Steve teaches at conferences, events, camps and retreats nationwide.

Resilient 21 Marker

SEMINARS

Seminars 1 – 10:30 a.m. EST

Activities and Insights for Strengthening Mental Health – Jim Cain, Ph.D.

Presented by Jim Cain, Ph.D., Founder of Teamwork and Teamplay

Months of separation and isolation have produced more than their share of both mental and physical health issues. Join Jim Cain, Ph.D., for insights and activities to help strengthen the mental health of your audiences, including eight simple steps you can follow to improve your resilience!

Fundraising – A Joyful Calling  – Scott Shaw

Presented by Scott Shaw, CCCA Fundraising Coach  

Has fundraising become a necessary evil for you? You know it must be done, and yet there is no true excitement around it. What if fundraising could be exciting, joyful and a major part of your ministry? In this seminar, we will look at how fundraising is ministry and how it can be a vital part of your discipleship and growth strategy. 

How to Do More Things with Less Money – Evan Liewer

Presented by Evan Liewer, Senior Director of Guest Ministries at Forest Home Christian Camps

Become more efficient and learn to do more things with less funds. Learn the seven types of waste and learn how to eliminate them to make your camp more successful. Work smarter and not harder!

Legal Update – Jon Ruybalid

Presented by Jon Ruybalid, CCCA Legal Counsel

This seminar will be an identification and discussion of the recent legislation, legal decisions and legal issues that affect governance, operational practices and legal compliance at Christian camps and conference centers. Practical guidance for navigating current legal and legislative issues will be provided. 

My Top 10 Favorite Program Ideas – Kimberly Mallory

Presented by Kimberly Mallory, Program Director at Camp Gilead  

Camp programs are constantly changing and developing. Staff training, games, culture and traditions… it’s a little of everything. Learn some of my favorite trends we’ve adopted and implemented in our programs. You’ll be sure to take a nugget or two and plug them into your ministry! 

The Need for Lament in Challenging Times – Dr. Soong-Chan Rah

Presented by Dr. Soong-Chan Rah

We are living through a once-in-a-generation moment. The complex and myriad challenges we face as a church and as a Christian community require a deeper theological reflection. In this session, we will examine the lost spiritual practice of lament as an essential ecclesial expression that provides the wisdom necessary for this moment.

Pivoting to Purpose: A Path Out of the Great Resignation – Andre Martin, Ph.D.

Presented by Andre Martin, Ph.D. Vice President of People Development at Google

Job openings surged to an all-time high of 10.1 million at the end of June, and over 19 million workers in the US quit their jobs between March 2021 and July 2021. The press has coined this moment “The Great Resignation,” and companies big and small are struggling to make sense of it all. So, what can leaders do to create a place where the best talent wants to join? The answer is simple: Double down on purpose. This session will explore the great resignation, what is driving talent to move, and practical strategies leaders can employ to retain their best talent and recruit those who are on the move.

Seminars 2 – 1 p.m. EST

The Best of Both Worlds – Jim Cain, Ph.D.

Presented by Jim Cain, Ph.D., Founder of Teamwork and Teamplay

Whether you are presenting content in the real world, the virtual world or both, teambuilding guru Jim Cain, Ph.D., shares his favorite collection of team and community building activities that can be facilitated online, in-person and even simultaneously for both types of audiences.

Camping Ministry in Times of Crisis – Duffy Robbins, Ph.D. (Not Recorded)

Presented by Duffy Robbins, Ph.D., Grove City College

These last two years have brought unique challenges to those of us in camping ministry. Increasingly, the data shows that young people are dealing with depression, fear, hopelessness and stress. How do we balance allowing students to “get away” from their normal problems and stresses at camp with the awareness that they have to go back home to the real-world stresses of the pandemic, family issues and everyday struggles? Could camp be a week when we help students find a way forward when they leave our properties and go back home? Learn guiding principles and practical strategies such as:

  • Four basic responses in times of crisis (and why none of them are sufficient by themselves)
  • L.O.V.E.: A four-prong strategy for ministering to campers in crisis
  • Practical programming ideas that will help you better engage with your campers in these crazy times
Creating and Cultivating Your Camp’s Culture – Kimberly Mallory

Presented by Kimberly Mallory, Program Director at Camp Gilead

What is camp culture? And what isn’t it? How do you create it and how can you cultivate it in a way that reflects your camp ministry and purpose? Some of our timeless traditions that hold strong ties to our camp’s culture do not align with what we want to accomplish. Learn how to assess, maintain and change your culture to promote biblical principles.  

Developing Launchable Kids – Rob Ribbe, Ph.D.

Presented by Rob Ribbe, Ph.D., Executive Director of HoneyRock

Have you heard the phrase “delayed adolescence” to describe today’s youth? Have you read statistics on youth leaving the church or coming back home after college? Have you seen the articles on young men disengaging from college, the work world and life in general? We’ll look at these alarming trends and discuss the critical role that camps can play in reversing these trends. How can camps develop resilience, responsibilities, reliance, relational maturity and more?

Health Hoops and Hot Topics – Tracey Gaslin, Ph.D.

Presented by Tracey Gaslin, Ph.D., CRNI, CPNP, FNP-BC

Summer 2021 revealed an array of successes and challenges. There were many “hoops” to jump through to make camp happen. This summer taught us that there is always something to learn, especially when we learn from one another. This seminar will outline ACN Health Hotline calls and inquiries received over the summer plus the tools and resources provided to help camps continue doing what they do best — care for youth and care for one another. 

Recognition, Reconciliation and Resilience: Taking Steps to Diversify Camping – Alex Bailey

Presented by Alex Bailey, Executive Director/Founder of Black Outside Inc.

There are reasons why Black families come to camp and why they don’t. Let’s unpack it together. Join Alex Bailey, founder of Black Outside Inc., on a storytelling journey of the history of summer camps and reflection on our collective histories to inform diversity in camping today.

Seminars 3 – 4 p.m. EST

Bringing Your Best to the Board: Seven Effective Practices of a Thriving Board Member – Ed McDowell

Presented by Ed McDowell, CCCA Board Chair and Executive Director of Warm Beach Camp

A Thriving Board is made up of Thriving Board members. This session encourages seven practices for every board member to bring into every board meeting. By putting these practices into play, board members can expect to see the quality and effectiveness of the board strengthened. A complete outline will be provided for all who attend.

Enneagram and Your Team Dynamics  – Beth McCord

Presented by Beth McCord, Founder of Your Enneagram Coach

You’ve heard about the Enneagram. What’s all the buzz? Maybe you’re already an aficionado, but do you know how Enneagram types impact your team? Learn how the Enneagram can help your team members better understand each other, navigate misunderstandings and work with more unity and purpose.  

Leaders Yet Discovered: Experiential Development of Emerging Adults – Rob Ribbe, Ph.D.

Presented by Rob Ribbe, Ph.D., Executive Director of HoneyRock

This seminar is based on the upcoming book by this title that outlines a holistic approach to developing your seasonal staff for a life of ministry and impact. We’ll cover how to create a leadership development culture and process for the emerging adults (18- to 30-year-olds) of today.

Leading Through Divisive Times – Jon Bisset

Presented by Jon Bisset, Executive Director at River Valley Ranch

More than any time in recent history, camp leaders are challenged to lead through important but controversial issues. How do we keep our staff and customers unified when people see these issues so differently? Learn about the principles that have helped guide Jon and the RVR team as they work through these challenging topics.

The Mental Work of Camp – Tracey Gaslin, Ph.D.

Presented by Tracey Gaslin, Ph.D., CRNI, CPNP, FNP-BC

If this summer has taught us anything, we learned that caring for the physical health of campers and staff is only half the game. We also need to have measures in place to care for behavioral health needs. Summer 2021 had a significant increase in mental, emotional and social health challenges that camps had to address and manage — often with limited resources. This seminar will outline some of the experiences from this summer and then help camps consider mechanisms of support for those at camp.  

Quality Service Standards and Training for Staff – Evan Liewer

Presented by Evan Liewer, Senior Director of Guest Ministries at Forest Home Christian Camps

Learn what your company holds as priorities and empower your staff to make decisions based on what your company values most. After this seminar, you will understand how your camp prioritizes specific values and have the foundation for systematic training for your staff.

Resilient 21 Marker


COHORTS BY CORE

Join other camping professionals as you meet by core discipline to share ideas and learn best practices specific to your responsibility at camp. Whether you’re an executive director, in foodservice, programming or another core discipline, this will be a valuable time to connect with others who share your challenges and joys.

You may register for one of the following cohorts:

  • Executive Directors (camp budgets of over $2 million)
  • Executive Directors (camp budgets of under $2 million) 
  • Program
  • Marketing
  • Fundraising/Development
  • Guest Services/Hospitality
  • Operations
  • Foodservice
  • Board Members
Resilient 21 Marker

SPONSORS/EXHIBITORS

For limited sponsorship opportunities, view our current sponsor/exhibitor opportunities, then contact Bryan to secure your sponsorship at bbailon@ccca.org.

RESILIENT ’21 SPONSORS

Resilient 21 Marker

REGISTER

CCCA Members – $30 

Non-members – $50

This includes a unique log-in for participation in seminars, networking and online engagement.

+$5 for Resilient ’21 Box
(At least a $20 value) shipped to registrant’s camp address. U.S. addresses only. Guaranteed to arrive before the conference only if ordered before Nov. 8, 2021. Limited quantity available.